CAPE TOWN 2022 Grand Prix Awards

The CAPE TOWN 2022 FIP Specialised World Stamp Exhibition themed “Road to Democracy”, had been successfully held by the Philatelic Federation of South Africa in conjunction with the Department of Communications and Digital Technologies, at the CTICC 2 Foreshore Cape Town in South Africa from 8 – 12 November 2022. The FIP Consultant was immediate Past President of FIP Mr Bernard Beston.

The Awards Ceremony was held on Saturday 12 November 2022 and a total of 15 large golds and 50 gold medals were awarded by the international jury team, lead by Jury President Howard Green and Jury Secretary Koichi Sato.

From left: Hugh Amoore, President of Philatelic Federation of South Africa; GPI Winner Alfred Schmidt (Germany); GPN Winner Lars Jorgensen (Belgium) and WSC Winner Jan Huys-Berlingin.

There were two candidates for the Grand Prix National prize and the winning exhibit went to “Zuid Afrikaansche Republiek – Transvaal 1869 – 1885” by Lars Jorgensen (Belgium).

The Grand Prix International prize had three candidates and the prize went to Alfred Schmidt (Germany) for his exhibit “Prussia – The First Three Issues 1850 – 1859”.

Finally, there were also three World Stamp Championship candidates. The winner was Jan Huys-Berlingin (Liechtenstein) for his exhibit “Belgium’s first issue, the ‘Epaulettes’”, who won with the tie-breaking vote by the Jury President.

WSC First runner-up: Victorian Natal 1857 – 1899 by Keith Klugman (USA)

WSC Second runner-up:  “British India Queen Victoria Postal Stationery” by Jaiswal Sandeep (USA)

Congratulations to all exhibitors, winners and all members of the Organising Committee.