THAILAND 2023 Grand Prix Awards

The THAILAND 2023 FIP Specialised World Stamp Championship Exhibition Palmares night was held successfully held by the Philatelic Association of Thailand under the Patronage of H.R.H. Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn on the evening of 1 December 2023 at the Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel in Bangkok. It was attended by close to 400 guests from all over the world.

All exhibitors who were present for the Palmares were called upon on stage to receive their respective medals in recognition of their achievements.

The Jury President for the exhibition was Charnchai Karnasuta and the Jury Secretary was Michael Ho from Chinese Taipei. The counting of votes for the Grand Prix Awards were conducted by Apprentice Jury Secretary Javaid Muhammad and Jury Vice-President Koichi Sato together with the Jury Secretary.

There was only one candidate for the Grand Prix National prize and the winner is Dr Prakob Chirakiti (Thailand) for his Postal History exhibit “Siam – The Development of Early Post Offices”.

The Grand Prix International prize had four candidates and the prize went to Han Cheol Kyu, (Korea) for his exhibit “Korea: the Daehan Empire Stamps. 1884-1905”.

Finally, there were three World Stamp Champion candidates.

The 2nd runner up was Matha Villarroel De Peredo (Bolivia) for her exhibit “Bolivia Airmail”. The first runner up went to the exhibit “Norwegian Skilling Covers – Domestic And Abroad” by Tom Komnaes (Norway).

The WSC winner went to Tay Peng Hian (Singapore) for his exhibit “Netherlands East Indies 1655-1870”.

From left: Korean Commissioner Mr Ryoo Sang Boom on behalf of GPI winner Han Cheol Kyu; WSC 1st runner-up Tom Komnaes (Norway); WSC Winner Tay Peng Hian (Singapore); Ms Miss Pilantanee Suwanbubbha, Senior Executive Vice-President of Thailand Post; WSC 2nd Runner-up Martha Villarroel De Peredo (Bolivia) and GPN Winner Prakob Chirakiti (Thailand).

The FIP Board congratulates all exhibitors and would like to thank the hard work of the International Jury Team!